A Drop of Night

Read Online

6.88
Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace.

You cannot guess its secrets.

Book Info

  • Original Title:A Drop of Night
  • Author:
  • Rating:6.88 / 10
  • Genre:Romance
  • Language:English
  • ISBN:9780062289926
  • ASIN:-
  • Publisher:Published March 15th 2016 by Greenwillow Books

Content

 


I heard it being built. Father’s secret Versailles, a palace beneath a palace. A world of gilt and crystal hidden deep within the roots of France. When I was a small girl, only three or four, I heard the booming far below, shivering up through the floor. I watched the tiny furniture rattle inside my dollhouse and I asked my governess, Mademoiselle d’Églantine, what it meant. She told me with great, frightened eyes that the earth had swallowed something dreadful and was suffering indigestion. I was not the cleverest child in France. I believed her.

 

 

Aurélie du Bessancourt—October 23, 1789


We are fleeing along the upper gallery when the windows explode. Seventy-two panes of glass burst inward. I am knocked sideways by the force of it, my vast skirts billowing into a banner of flickering silk. For a heartbeat all is silent, echoing and slow-moving, as if I hav...

Read online

Reviews

Recent Comments

nee · 07-22-2018

The whole series are so good.


Reany · 07-22-2018

Good read


eunice · 07-21-2018

AMAZING loved it




eunice · 07-21-2018

loved it totally





Rio · 07-21-2018

IT beautiful.