Little Broken Things

Read Online

7.22

An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.

I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever.

Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy.

While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

Book Info

  • Original Title:Little Broken Things
  • Author:
  • Rating:7.22 / 10
  • Genre:Romance
  • Language:English
  • ISBN:9781501133602
  • ASIN:-
  • Publisher:Published November 21st 2017 by Atria Books

Content

For Eve

 

 

Broken things are loveliest

—Sara Teasdale

 

 

THE LITTLE GIRL’S HAIR is fine as cornsilk. It pours through the scissors like water and spills to the floor, a waterfall of white.

“Beautiful,” I breathe, squeezing her narrow shoulders with hands that tremble. My voice wavers, too, and I swallow hard. Not now. “You look like Tinker Bell.”

“I don’t want to look like Tinker Bell.” One small hand reaches up and up, searching for the fountain of curls that cascaded down her back only moments before. Now ringlets frame her ears, perfect curlicues that tickle the nape of her neck and flirt with the greening Hello Kitty earrings she’s been wearing day and night for at least a month.

The earrings will have to go. And the telltale glimmer of her almost silvery-blond hair.

“Lo...

Read online

Reviews

Recent Comments

Flor · 01-18-2019

All i can say is WOW!


Tunie · 01-17-2019

Okay, not what I though



willy · 01-17-2019

worth reading


abby · 01-17-2019

interesting!


ziana · 01-17-2019

quite amazing.


Simone · 01-17-2019

So sweet. I loved it.


izzy · 01-17-2019

superb story ...superb!!



mitali · 01-17-2019

worth reading