White Lies and Wishes

Read Online

8.76
What happens when what you wish for is only half the story...?

Flirtatious, straight-talking Jo Gold says she’s got no time for love; she’s determined to save her family’s failing footwear business.

New mother Sarah Hudson has cut short her maternity leave to return to work. She says she’ll do whatever it takes to make partner at the accountancy firm.

Bored, over-eating housewife Carrie Radley says she just wants to shift the pounds – she’d love to finally wear a bikini in public.

The unlikely trio meet by chance one winter’s day, and in a moment of ‘Carpe Diem’ madness, embark on a mission to make their wishes come true by September.

Easy. At least it would be, if they hadn’t been just the teensiest bit stingy with the truth…

With hidden issues, hidden talents, and hidden demons to overcome, new friends Jo, Carrie and Sarah must admit to what they really, really want, if they are ever to get their happy endings.

A feel-good romantic comedy that's guaranteed to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

Your favourite authors have loved reading bestselling Cathy Bramley:
‘Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns’ Trisha Ashley
‘Engaging characters and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!’ Katie Fforde
‘A witty, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy’ Miranda Dickinson
‘The perfect romantic tale, to warm your heart and make you smile.’ Ali McNamara

Book Info

  • Original Title:White Lies and Wishes
  • Author:
  • Rating:8.76 / 10
  • Genre:Romance
  • Language:English
  • ISBN:9780552171557
  • ASIN:-
  • Publisher:Published January 26th 2017 by CORGI BOOKS

Content

Chapter 1


It was the last Monday in January. ‘Blue Monday’, according to the newspapers. The most miserable day of the year. The sky was miserable, too: charcoal clouds scudded angrily over the rooftops and a mean wind rattled at window frames and snapped weak branches from trees.

How apt, thought Jo, rubbing her hands together for warmth.

Frédéric Lafleur’s funeral had already cast a shadow over the day but now, at three o’clock, the thin light was fading from the afternoon and the little village of Woodby in rural Nottinghamshire was descending into gloom. Jo shuddered, dragged her gaze away from the steamed-up window of the village hall and blinked away tears that had been gathering since before the service.

Coffee. She needed coffee. It would warm her up and give her something to do. She pushed her way through the crowd towards the refreshments and was vaguely aware of a petite young wo...

Read online

Reviews

Recent Comments

jesmin · 10-18-2018

epic


Salti · 10-18-2018

It's good



o_0 · 10-18-2018

Awesome trilogy


the book critisizer · 10-18-2018

meh...



Salti · 10-18-2018

I love it ...


hadel · 10-18-2018

nice one


Lil · 10-17-2018

Cute


maria · 10-17-2018

it was "meh"....i.e plain